Student award winners recognized during virtual Honors Convocation

Student award winners recognized during virtual Honors Convocation

Alfred State College recently celebrated the achievements of hundreds of students virtually during the 37th annual Honors Convocation, with Dr. Kristin Poppo, provost, presiding over the event, and SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of English and Humanities Dr. Aniko Constantine serving as grand marshal.

At the beginning of the ceremony, Mathematics and Physics Department Assistant Professor Earl Packard sang the national anthem and Admissions Counselor Dennis Dueno provided the invocation.

Following the welcome by President Dr. Skip Sullivan and the provost’s remarks, the Provost’s Award for Academic Excellence was presented to Samantha Barker, mechanical engineering technology, Buffalo.

Deans Awards for Excellence were then presented by the deans of the three schools, Jeffrey Stevens (School of Applied Technology), Dr. John Williams (School of Architecture, Management and Engineering Technology) and Dr. Kathleen Casey (School of Arts and Sciences). The recipients of the awards were Heidi Newton, nursing, McDonough; Courtney DeRusha, masonry, Corning; and Alexa Sass, architectural technology, Niagara Falls.

Dr. Gregory Sammons, vice president for Student Affairs, recognized Katherine Frascella, nursing, Franklinville; and Hunter DeJonge, construction management, Clifton Springs, as the Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence recipients.

Sammons also announced that the first recipients of the SUNY Student Leadership Award at Alfred State are Deborah Oliveira, electrical engineering technology, Astoria; and Dylan Perlino, mechanical engineering technology, Holland.

Patricia K. Fogarty, chair of the College Council, presented the Leadership through Civic Engagement Award to Alexa Sass, architectural technology, Niagara Falls; Ruth Crowley, forensic science technology, Penfield; and Alec Harrigan, architectural technology, Springville.

Elijah Blumberg, president of Student Senate, presented the Student Advocate Award to Nicole DiRado, an assistant professor in the Physical and Life Sciences Department.

President Sullivan presented the Distinguished Alumni and Outstanding Young alumni awards to 1956 graduate B. Marlene (Bennett) Johnson (executive secretarial science), 1985 graduate Stewart Haney (engineering science), and 2014 graduate Robert Steen (architectural technology).

Following the presentation of student awards for excellence and Sullivan’s concluding remarks, Dennis Dueno gave the benediction to close out the ceremony.