College Council

The Alfred State College Council is established, described and governed by the provisions of Article 8, Section 356 of the New York State Education Law. Each state-operated campus has such a Council. Each Council consists of 10 members, nine appointed by the Governor, and one elected by and from the students on the campus. The Governor designates one member as Chair. Council members, who are appointed to seven-year terms, exercise responsibilities with respect to governance on the campus, utilizing their expertise and judgment as needed resources for the college.

  • Ronald P. Nasca
    Acting Chair, College Council
    Mechanical Designer
    Alstom Transportation
    Hornell, NY
  • Matthew DiRado
    Faculty Senate Representative
    Assistant Professor
    Architecture and Design
    Alfred, NY
    (Non-voting member)
  • Trish Haggerty
    Secretary to College Council
    Executive Assistant to the President
    Alfred State
    Alfred, NY
    (Non-voting member)
  • Charles R. Craig
    Senior Vice President, Science & Technology
    Administration & Operations
    Corning, Inc.
    Corning, NY
  • George Welch, Sr.
    Welch-Zink Attorneys
    Corning, NY
  • John "Jack" Benjamin
    President (Retired)
    3 Rivers Development Corporation
    Corning, NY
    (Non-voting member)
  • Carrie Redman
    Associate Director of Marketing and Community Relations
    The ARC Allegany-Steuben
    Wellsville, NY