Skip to main content

Students earn two third-place finishes in construction competition

Students earn two third-place finishes in construction competition

Competing against 15 other schools, Alfred State placed in two divisions in this year’s Associated Schools of Construction Region 1 Student Competition held Nov. 13-14 in Morristown, NJ.

College teams worked on plans for various projects in three divisions in this year’s event: commercial building, heavy highway, and design/build. Alfred State came in third in both the heavy highway and design/build categories, and was the only public school to place in any of the three divisions, according to Erin Vitale, associate professor in the Civil Engineering Technology Department.

On the first day, teams received project documents at 8 a.m. and had 16 hours to complete their submission to project sponsors, who had devised each problem. The next day, teams made an oral presentation to the project sponsors, who then judged the written submissions and the oral presentations and ranked the top three teams.

The commercial building category focused on construction of a state-of-the-art, 72,000-square-foot skilled nursing and rehabilitation center. In the heavy highway division, teams were tasked with creating a plan for a major utility project on the Green Line Extension in Boston. The design/build competition centered on refurbishing a building at the Johnson Space Center in Houston.

Overall, 16 schools, 37 teams, and 222 students participated in the competition. Students from Alfred State who competed, along with their majors and hometowns, are as follows:

Commercial building: From left to right are Ryan Ortiz, Brockport; Shawn Lorraine, Webster; Dan Gallmann, Angelica; Kassandra Militello, Akron; Dan Christoffersen, Port Crane; and Dustin Short, Caledonia. All team members are construction management engineering technology majors.

Commercial building team members - 2015 competition

Heavy highway: From left to right are Fred Dumond, Liberty; Andrew Perno, Hornell; Rick Hoglund, Mayville; Herald Ymaj, Bronx; Zachary Warren, Port Byron; and Dan Ognibene, Alexander. All team members are construction management engineering technology majors.

Heavy highway team members - 2015 competition

Design/build: From left to right are Nicholas Scalise, architecture, Campbell Hall; Derrick Clark, construction management engineering technology, Alfred; Josh Greenaker, architecture, Castile; Wade Franklin, architecture, Arkport; Mike Goddard, construction management engineering technology, Honeoye; and Trentin Reese, architecture, Red Creek.

Design/build team members - 2015 competition