Skip to main content

Five Pioneer Wrestling Alum to be Honored

Five Pioneer Wrestling Alum to be Honored

Five former Alfred State College wrestlers will be inducted into the Region III/Northeast District I Hall of Fame on Sunday prior the championship matches of the Northeast District Championships.  Jamie Luckett (2005-2007), Tyler Shephard (2003-2005, Dan Chase (2001-2003), Pat Nolan (1990-1992), and Tony Ferrara (1988-1990) will be honored.

Luckett was a two-time All-American for the blue & gold.  He finished 3rd at the national championships in 2006 and was the national runner-up in 2007.  He was a two-time Region III champion at 197 lbs. and finished his junior college career with a 47-5 record.

Shephard was the 2005 Region III Champion at 197 lbs. He finished the season with a 21-6 mark and earned 5th place honors at the national championships.

Chase won the Region III Championship at 157 lbs. in 2002 and 2003.  He finished in 8th place at nationals in 2002 and had a 46-15 career record at ASC.

Nolan was the 1992 Region III heavyweight champion.  He finished 3rd at the national championships and finished the season with a 42-4 record.  During that season he recorded 24 pins.

Ferrara won the 142 lb. Region III Championship in 1990. He went on to a 3rd place finish at nationals after rallying for six straight victories after falling in his first match.

Currently their are 95 wrestlers, 16 coaches, and 11 contributors in the Region III/Northeast District Hall of Fame.  The hall of fame, established in 1977, annually inducts new members during the District Championships.  The 2010 class will join nine other Alfred State College wrestlers previously inducted.

The induction ceremony will be held at 3 p.m. on Feb. 14th just prior to the championship finals of the Northeast Districts.