Skip to main content

ASC’s 12th Annual Regional Science and Technology Fair

ASC’s 12th Annual Regional Science and Technology Fair

Science fair contestants with their displays in OrvisStudent displays from eight local school districts (Allegany-Limestone, Bolivar-Richburg, Prattsburgh, Hinsdale, Genesee Valley Central, Ellicottville Central, Addison, and Tuscarora) were judged at Alfred State College’s 12th Annual Regional Science and Technology Fair. Eighty science and technology projects were on display for judging and public viewing. Participants were divided into senior (grades 10-12), junior (grades 7-9), and novice grade categories.

A total of 94 students presented their projects to the judges for a chance at the $1,590 in prize money.

Winners in the senior division included first place ($250) Courtney Lentz (Hinsdale), with “Natural Disaster Landslides;” second place($150) Jonathan Cledgett (Hinsdale), with “Musical Glasses;” and third place ($100) Melinda Drabant (Hinsdale), with “Measure Sugar Content with Laser.”

Winners in the junior division included first place ($250) Melissa Harris (Hinsdale), with “Duped by Stroop;” second place ($150) Patrick Stayer (Allegany Limestone), with “Electricity: Now You Have It, Now You Don’t;” and third place ($100) Michael Williams (Hinsdale), with “The Beam Bridge.”

Winners in the novice division included first place ($50) Brenden Wagner (Prattsburgh), “Household Flames;” second place ($25) Kennedi Norasethaporn (GVCS), “Raw Egg Bounces;” and third place ($15) Mariah Swarthout (GVCS), “Testing for Starch with Iodine.”

Best junior division school winner: (Silver Tray) - Allegany Limestone

Best senior division school winner: (Silver Tray) - Hinsdale

The grand prize ($500) was captured by Elizabeth Jaremko (Allegany Limestone), for “Staph or Staff.”

Each participant received a certificate of participation, and individual ribbons were presented to first-, second-, and third-place prize winners in all divisions. The prizes were sponsored by Alstom Transportation, Alfred State College Mathematics and Physics Department, and Career Pathways.

Judges for this year’s event were ASC faculty and staff members Phil Schroeder; guest judges were Dr. Frank Thiel, Jessica Hutchinson, Bob Volk, Ann Rossington, Tianne Armaly, and Rochelle Foote.