Skip to main content

2012 SkillsUSA Postsecondary Championship Results

2012 SkillsUSA Postsecondary Championship Results

Alfred State’s School of Applied Technology, Wellsville, hosted the 14th annual New York State Postsecondary (college level) SkillsUSA competition on Saturday, March 24. Competitions took place in automotive service, carpentry, collision repair, commercial baking, culinary, diesel technology, masonry, residential wiring, technical drafting, and welding. Schools competing this year were Culinary Institute of America, SUNY Delhi, and Alfred State. Winners will compete in the National SkillsUSA competition in Kansas City in June.

Winners of this year’s NYS competition preparing to compete at Nationals include:

Automotive Service

  • 1st Place - Phil Bianchi (Delhi), Montouk
  • 2nd Place - Matthew Elderkin (ASC), Frewsburg
  • 3rd Place - Joshua White (ASC), Jasper


  • 1st Place - Jonathan Cusimano (ASC), Vestal
  • 2nd Place - Andrew Marsh (Delhi), Elmira Heights
  • 3rd Place - Jacob Grisewood (ASC), Belmont

Collision Repair

  • 1st Place - Olivia Barszczewski (ASC), Greenport
  • 2nd Place - Dakota Bain (ASC), Lowville
  • 3rd Place - Jarid Denning (ASC), Little Genesee

Commercial Baking

  • 1st Place - Kacie George (ASC), Holland
  • 2nd Place - Bailey Stewart (ASC), Akron
  • 3rd Place - ; Katherine Brackebusch (CIA), Marshall, WI


  • 1st Place - Kayla Stock (CIA), Columbus, OH
  • 2nd Place - Alison Hadley (ASC), East Aurora
  • 3rd Place - Tzu Zhu (ASC), Flushing

Diesel Technology

  • 1st Place - Warren Boxler (ASC), Varysburg
  • 2nd Place - Max Barrett (ASC), Avon
  • 3rd Place - Tyler Uebelhoer (ASC), Attica


  • 1st Place - Jermaine Helire (ASC), Auburn
  • 2nd Place - Andrew Lathrop (ASC), Mount Morris&
  • 3rd Place - James Congdon (ASC), Dunkirk

Residential Wiring

  • 1st Place - Jonathan Moragni (ASC), Ithaca
  • 2nd Place - Chad Stauring (ASC), Belfast

Technical Drafting

  • 1st Place - Jordan Shaw (ASC), Portville


  • 1st Place - Kyle Pietrzyk (ASC), Tonawanda
  • 2nd Place - Brandon Mead (ASC), Waterloo
  • 3rd Place - Joseph Dullea II (ASC), Putnam Valley

In addition to medallions and certificates, winners also received prizes donated by: Abbott Welding, Olean; ACES Campus Store, Alfred; Altra Furniture; ASC Institutional Advancement, Alfred; Bokman of Wellsville Inc; Buffalo Sabres; Canisteo Valley Transportation, Canisteo; CMS Industries, Inc., Orchard Park; Cutco, Olean; Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park; DeWalt; Duggan & Duggan Contractors, Allegany; General Roofing & Heating Co., Wellsville; Genesee Hardware & Building Supply, Genesee, PA; Giant Food Mart, Wellsville; Glen-Gery Brick, Wyomessing, PA; Hornell Do It Best; IBEW Local 241 & Southern Tier NECA, Ithaca; Ka-Bar Knives, Olean; Kinley Corp., Allegany; KOS, Inc., Coudersport, PA; LaForge Disposal Service, Inc., Wellsville; LC Whitford Equipment Co., Wellsville; Landmark Electric, Inc., Rochester; Lincoln Electric, Cleveland, OH; Kuboteck, Marlborough, MA; MAC Tools, Arcade, Marshalltown Trowel, Marshalltown, PA; Miller Electric Manufacturing, Appleton, WI; Milwaukee Electric Tool; MSC Industrial Supply, Johnston, PA; North Main Lumber, Wellsville; Northern Lights Candles, Wellsville; Norton’s Building Supply Inc., Shinglehouse, PA; PM Research, Inc., Wellsville; Radec Corp., Rochester; Salon Visage, Wellsville; Snap-On Tools, Pine City; Southern Tier Concrete Products, Alfred Station; Tinkertown Hardware, Alfred Station; Walker Business & Staffing Services, Wellsville; and Worth W. Smith Co. Surplus, Olean.

SkillsUSA is a national organization that serves trade, industrial, technical, and health occupations and students in public high schools, vocational centers, and colleges. They serve over 284,000 students and instructors nationwide.

Alfred State was the first college in New York State to establish a student organization for postsecondary SkillsUSA and continues to lead in this process.

2012 NYS SkillsUSA Postsecondary competition winners

The 2012 NYS SkillsUSA Postsecondary competition winners present at Saturday’s award banquet:
(seated, from left) Kayla Stock, Jonathan Cusimano, Phil Bianchi, and Andrew Marsh
(1st row standing, from left) Katherine Brackebusch, Bailey Stewart, Kacie George, Tzu Zhu, Alison Hadley, Dakota Bain, Olivia Barszczewski, Chad Stauring, Jarid Denning, and Jonathan Maragni
(Standing in back, from left) Jacob Grisewood, Josh White, Matthew Elderkin, Tyler Uebelhoer, Jermaine Helire, and Brandon Mead