Skip to main content

16 new members inducted into ASC’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter

16 new members inducted into ASC’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter

The Alfred State College (ASC) chapter of Phi Kappa Phi was honored to recently induct 14 new student members and two faculty members into the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines.

Surrounded by friends, family, and faculty, the new members’ academic achievements and campus contributions were recognized by both the Phi Kappa Phi officers as well as by the campus leadership. Phi Kappa Phi is proud to add its newest members, as these inductees embody the organization's motto, "Let the love of learning rule humanity."

Student inductees included:

  • several people standing next to a picture frame

    Front row, from left to right, are Gina Gaudioso, Katie Lengvarsky, Brianna Swartz,
    Katherine Wittmeyer, and John DiPaolo. In the second row, from left to right, are Social
    and Behavioral Sciences Assistant Professor Michael Colomaio, Iryna Kocherzhuk,
    Director of Libraries Dr. Joseph Petrick, Associate Librarian Jane Vavala, Brian Kelly,
    Brock Krayna, and Computer and Information Technology Department Chair and
    Assistant Professor Evan Enke. Not pictured are new inductees Anthony Funicella,
    Aaron Jones, Katlin Meehan, Adam Meyers, Emma Retzlaff, and Robert Ricotta.

    John DiPaolo (architectural technology, Lancaster)

  • Anthony Funicella (architecture, Westtown)
  • Gina Gaudioso (architectural technology, Rochester)
  • Aaron Jones (technology management, Endicott)
  • Brian Kelly (applications software development, Allegany)
  • Iryna Kocherzhuk (technology management, Utica)
  • Brock Krayna (mechanical engineering technology, Hamburg)
  • Katie Lengvarsky (business administration, Portville)
  • Katlin Meehan (business administration, Rexville)
  • Adam Meyers (network administration, Binghamton)
  • Emma Retzlaff (forensic science technology, Alden)
  • Robert Ricotta (electrical engineering technology, Derby)
  • Brianna Swartz (architecture, Fort Plain)
  • Katherine Wittmeyer (technology management, North Collins)

Also initiated were staff members Dr. Joseph Petrick, director of libraries; and Jane Vavala, associate librarian.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education and engages the community of scholars in service to others. Nationally, Phi Kappa Phi awards over $2 million dollars a year in scholarships and awards to its members pursuing higher learning, and provides needed academic resources.

Locally, the Alfred State chapter of Phi Kappa Phi encourages academic pursuits by sponsoring educational and community events, and works to materially support campus constituents in their scholastic endeavors.

Phi Kappa Phi is proud to include among its membership thousands of women and men who, for more than a century, have sought to make a difference in the communities where they live and work. The Alfred State chapter of Phi Kappa Phi continues this tradition by striving to make a positive impact on campus. Members are expected to be campus leaders in and out of the classroom and be positive change agents, as well.