Alfred State College holds 34th annual Honors Convocation

Alfred State College holds 34th annual Honors Convocation

Alfred State College celebrated the achievements of hundreds of students recently during the 34th annual Honors Convocation, with Dr. Kristin Poppo, provost, presiding over the event, and SUNY Distinguished Professor of Mathematics and Physics Lawrence E. Burns serving as grand marshal. 

Following the academic processional to open the ceremony was the singing of the national anthem by the Alfred State Men’s Quartet. Ahmed ElHady ElSayed, senior capital projects manager, gave the invocation. 

Following the welcome by President Dr. Skip Sullivan and the provost’s remarks, Deans Awards for Academic Excellence were presented by the deans of the three schools, Jeffrey Stevens (interim dean, School of Applied Technology), Dr. John Williams (School of Architecture, Management and Engineering Technology), and Dr. Ingrid Johnston (interim dean, School of Arts and Sciences). The recipients of the awards were Mitchell Davis, building trades: building construction, Bath; Grant Tinker, electrical engineering technology, McGraw; and Robert Privitera, human services management, North Tonawanda. 

Receiving the Provost’s Award for Academic Excellence was Kelsey Williams, forensic science technology, Elmira. Gregory Sammons, vice president for Student Affairs, recognized Hannah Vuozzo, interdisciplinary studies, Salt Point; and Katherine Holmok, business administration, Prattsville, as the Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence recipients. 

Patricia K. Fogarty, chair of the College Council, presented the Leadership through Civic Engagement Award to Mitchell Colvin, nursing, Campbell; Danielle Russo, human services management, Manorville; Samantha Smith, nursing, Eldred, PA; and Peter York, construction management, Akron. Receiving the Newman Civic Fellows Award from Fogarty was Hannah Weaver, business administration, Spencerport. 

Sullivan presented the Outstanding Young Alumni Award to Richard John (RJ) Klisiewicz, who graduated in 2011 with his associate degree in business administration and in 2013 with his bachelor’s degree in business administration; and Miranda Dischner, who studied in the nursing and human services programs. 

Laurie DeMott of Union University Church gave the benediction just prior to the academic recessional to close out the ceremony. 

student Grant Tinker shakes hands with Dr. John Williams

Student Grant Tinker shakes hands with Dr. John Williams, dean of the School of Architecture, Management and Engineering Technology, after having received a Deans Award for Academic Excellence during the college’s 34th annual Honors Convocation.