Skip to main content

New members inducted into Phi Kappa Phi honor society

New members inducted into Phi Kappa Phi honor society

More than 40 students, faculty, staff, and friends of Alfred State were initiated Thursday, April 14 into the college’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi honor society. 

Student inductees included: 

  • Alfred State President Dr. Skip Sullivan speaks during a Phi Kappa Phi honor society induction ceremony Ariel Bailey, applications software development, Swain.
  • Kyle Brown, nursing, Randolph.
  • Brandon Bryniarski, electrical engineering technology, Springville.
  • Anna Campbell, technology management, Geneseo.
  • Nathan Coble, sport management, Angelica.
  • Matthew DiGennaro, cyber security, Kirkwood.
  • Tyler Elliott, construction management engineering technology, Perry.
  • Thomas Erickson, mechanical engineering technology, Center Moriches.
  • Alexis Fairbrother, human services management, Avoca.
  • Rachael Flint, nursing, Pike.
  • Henry Gifford, construction management engineering technology, Berne.
  • Elizabeth Glick, mechanical engineering technology, Schenectady.
  • Grace Graziano, human services management, Sodus.
  • Nicholas Graziose, architecture, Ontario.
  • Lacee Hill, forensic science technology, Friendship.
  • Sarah Jastrzab, applications software development, North Tonawanda.
  • Collin Jones, sport management, Caneadea.
  • Kelly Kegelmyer, technology management, Jamestown.
  • Owen Lockrow, applications software development, Ithaca.
  • Michael LoPreto, technology management, Sayville.
  • Frank Marshall Jr., technology management, Selden.
  • Haley Martin, digital media and animation, Silver Creek.
  • Lisa McDonald, nursing, Monroe.
  • Trevor McDonough, electrical engineering technology, Alfred Station.
  • Ryan Mills, sport management, Massapequa.
  • John Moore, technology management, Essex Junction, VT.
  • Amelia Phillips, digital media and animation, Rochester.
  • Ian Potash, digital media and animation, Syracuse.
  • Steffanie Preston, forensic science technology, Groton.
  • Brittany Richards, forensic science technology, Geneseo.
  • Kevin Sheridan, computer engineering technology, Staten Island.
  • Michael Shutter, web development, Geneva.
  • Dean Smith, network administration, Waterford.
  • Jenii Statt, nursing, Andover.
  • Edward Swackhamer, network administration, Brewerton.
  • Curtis Swanton, mechanical engineering technology, East Amherst.
  • Lindsey Thiel, construction management engineering technology, Liverpool.
  • Haley Vosburg, nursing, Freedom. 

Also initiated were Michael Colomaio, assistant professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences; Patricia Fogarty, president of the Alfred State College Council; Dr. Jerry Fong, professor of Physical and Life Sciences; David Haggstrom, director of libraries; and Dr. Matthew Lawrence, professor of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering Technology. 

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, according to, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. It has chapters on more than 300 campuses in the United States and the Philippines. 

Each year, around 30,000 members are initiated, and only the top 10 percent of a graduating class and the top 7.5 percent of juniors are invited to join. Alfred State’s chapter was formed in February 2015.

Pictured in photo: President Dr. Skip Sullivan speaks during a Phi Kappa Phi honor society induction ceremony.