Skip to main content

Women 10th, Men 11th at Houghton Invitational

Women 10th, Men 11th at Houghton Invitational

Competing versus mostly four-year competition, the Alfred State College women’s cross country team finished 10th while the men finished 11th.

Tara Murphy (Rochester/Wilson) was the top ASC finisher in 38th place.  She ran the 5k course in 20:02.77.  Diana Burley (Warsaw) was 45th (20:19.85) and Tess Fahey (Marathon Central) was 128th (24:08.08.  The Lady Pioneers scored a 280 in the competition.  Indiana Wesleyan was the overall champion with a 41.

Tyler Pettit (Mexico) led the men’s team with a 48th place finish.  He ran the 8k course in 27:44.24.  Brian Gooshaw (Elmira Heights/Thomas Edison) was 65th (28:28.24), Jordan Friedman (Clarkstown South) was 71st (28:48.07), and Tom Lattanzi (Kings Park) was 104th (30:22.87).  ASC scored 316 points on the day.  SUNY Brockport won the men’s competition with a score of 75 one point ahead of Indiana Wesleyan.

The Pioneers return to action in two weeks when they travel to Westfield, MA, the host of the NJCAA Division III Championships, for the James Earley Invitational