Skip to main content

Pioneer Men and Women Finish Track Nationals in 4th

Pioneer Men and Women Finish Track Nationals in 4th

The Alfred State College outdoor track & field team completed the 2011 NJCAA Division III National Championships with 4th place finishes.  The women scored 83.5 points while the men finished with 61.

On the women's side the Lady Pioneers earned 2nd team All-American honors in three individual events and two relays.  Tara Murphy (Rochester/Wilson) was 2nd in the 400 (58.23), Megan Votava (Alfred Almond) was 2nd in the 100 hurdles (16.77), and Shea McKee (Canisteo Greenwood) was 2nd in the high jump (1.45 m).

The 4 x 100 relay team, Shatara Noble (Rochester/Marshall, Briana Dorsey (Rochester School of the Arts, McKee, and Pam Breedlove (Rochester/East) and the 4 x 400 relay team, Breedlove, Noble, McKee, and Murphy each finished 2nd. The 4 x 100 finished in 50.75 while the 4 x 400 finished in 4:06.91.

Dorsey was 3rd in the 100 (13.07), Breedlove was 5th (13.23), and Noble was 8th (13.76).  Dorsey was 5th in the 200 (26.71) and Breedlove was 6th (27.03).  Murphy was 7th in the 800 (2:38.68) while Noble was 3rd in 400 hurdles (1:09.52).

On the men's side the 4 x 100 relay team and the 4 x 400 team earned 2nd team All-American honors.  The team of Rawle Crawford (Mt. Vernon), Dre Johnson (Rochester/Edison), Brett Harrington (Rochester/Edison), and Ken Boyer (Albion) crossed the finish line in 42.50 in the 4 x 100.  The 4 x 400 relay team of Marcquis Johnson-Broughton (Rochester/Edison), Crawford, Isiah Whiting (Hamden, CT), and Brandon Lewis (Red Creek) finished in 3:22.58.

Johnson-Broughton was 4th in the 400 hurdles (56.88), David Miller (Elmira Southside) was 5th in the 400 hurdles (56.99), Johnson was 8th in the 100 (13.52), Alex Farrell (N. Tonawanda) was 8th in the 1,500 (4:18.12).

The Pioneers entered ranked #4 in the last NJCAA Division III poll of the season.  Harper College won both the men's and women's national title.

The national championships were held for the second time in three years at Pioneer Stadium at Alfred State.  ASC will once again host the national championships in 2012.