Skip to main content

Pioneer Award Recipients Recognized

Pioneer Award Recipients Recognized

Alfred State President John M. Anderson recently presented five members of the college faculty and staff with the college’s Pioneer Award. Recognized at the college’s employee recognition banquet were: Dr. Melvin Chambliss of Alfred Station, NY; Deborah Claire of Arkport, NY; Mark Payne of Canisteo, NY; Charlene McGregor of Canisteo, NY; and Lieutenant Scott Bingham. Each received a certificate and a monetary gift.

The Pioneer Award acknowledges those who have demonstrated commitment and dedication to the college mission and goals, have made contributions that have had meaning and measurable positive impact on college operations, are seen as positive role models and show creativity and initiative, and have shown a consistent level of exceptional performance throughout their employment.

Dr. Melvin ChamblissChambliss, associate professor in the university police, “has always been a police supervisor that all the staff have felt comfortable going to,” Neal remarked. His integrity and fairness are hard to match, and he is respected for his willingness to help with day-to-day tasks in his department. He also serves as the coach/adviser for the Pioneer Woodsmen team, and has overseen a flourishing team with students who look up to and highly respect him. Bingham is invested in the lives of the students and has an impact on their lives while at Alfred State.

Recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by the Reward and Recognition Committee.