Skip to main content

New Student Convocation Planned

New Student Convocation Planned

Hornell City Court Judge and associate professor in the Joseph E. Damrath will serve as keynote speaker at the College’s annual New Student Convocation in August.

The event, presided over by ASC President Dr. John M. Anderson, will also feature remarks by AJ LaMere, Rochester, Student Senate president, and William Snyder, ASC class of 2001, who will serve as the alumni speaker.

This activity marks the official beginning of a student’s academic career at Alfred State, welcomes new students to campus, and acquaints them with the institution’s expectations, including its principles of community by which students are expected to conduct themselves. New Student Convocation includes a formal procession of faculty in academic regalia and presentations by campus representatives.

Damrath, who has been a member of the ASC business faculty since 2003, holds a JD from The University of Toledo College of Law; an MA in philosophy from Duquesne University, Pittsburgh; and a BA in philosophy from LeMoyne College, Syracuse. He was admitted to the NYS Bar in 1981 and admitted to practice before the United States District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.

In addition to his faculty obligations, Professor Damrath serves as Hornell City Court Judge (since 1989); was assistant district attorney for Steuben County (1982-88); and conducts a general law practice, concentrating in business law, contracts, corporations, partnerships, leases, collections, wills, estates, real estate, education law, health law, criminal law and litigation.

Professor Damrath is a member of several professional associations, including Academy of Legal Studies in Business; Society for Business Ethics; American Catholic Philosophical Association; New York State Bar Association; Steuben County Bar Association New York State City Judges Association; Attorney Grievance Committee (7th Judicial District); New York Association of Drug Treatment Court Professionals; and National Association of Drug Court Professionals. He is also a member of the Hornell Rotary Club.

Professor Damrath was named a Distinguished Jurist by the Center for Dispute Settlement in 2010. In May 2011, he was recognized by the State University of New York (SUNY) with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Additionally, Professor Damrath has rendered service to the campus community by serving as: Faculty Senate-Parliamentarian, faculty adviser to Business Professionals of America, the College Ethics Officer, and a multitude of department and college committees.

Convocation Alumni Speaker William Snyder III, Class of 2001, graduated from the BS program in construction management technology as well as from the College Council. Throughout his time at ASC, Snyder worked as a student ambassador, a door guard, and a resident assistant.

While at ASC, Snyder was honored with numerous awards: the State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence for outstanding academic achievement and contributions to the university community; the Paul B. Orvis Award for academic achievement and extensive involvement in the college community; Outstanding Student in Construction Engineering for academic distinction for dedication in field of study; and the National Associate Undergraduate Scholarship Award for devotion to the construction industry. Bill was a member of Psi Beta, a national honor society in psychology; and Associated General Contractors of America. Since graduation, Bill has worked for National Fuel Gas in Williamsville, working through the ranks in field operations. He was promoted to district manager earlier this year.

Over the years, Bill’s affiliations have included councilman, Town of Concord Town Board; Concord Public Library Board of Trustees; Town of Concord Zoning Board of Appeals; and Erie County Cooperative Extension Planning Board.

Convocation Address Speaker Alfred J. (“AJ”) LaMere is a Burdick Hall, APB honorary board member, and Student Activities chair on Student Senate. AJ is now serving a third year as Alfred State Student Senate president.