Skip to main content

Freligh, Chambers, and Johnson Named Sportsmanship Award Winners

Freligh, Chambers, and Johnson Named Sportsmanship Award Winners

Alfred State softball player Shelby Freligh (Auburn/Union Springs), women's basketball player Carriola Chambers (Manhattan/Facing History), and football player Colter Johnson (Warren, PA) were named the recipients of the Daniel J. Neverett Sportsmanship at the athletic department's annual award ceremony.

Freligh was a two-year starter at catcher for the softball team.  She hit .284 this season with seven doubles and 11 RBI.  She is credited by her coaching staff as being a hard worker with a great attitude.  She is also credited for being the first one to arrive for anything softball related, for doing whatever needs to be done without complaint, and taking criticism and using it to become better.  Freligh is also a member of the Intercollegiate Athletic Board.

Chambers started at point guard the past two seasons for the Lady Pioneers.  She averaged 4.6 points and 4 assists per game this year en route to being named the team's most improved player.  She is credited for being a silent leader that never complained to the coaching staff, teammates, or officials.

Johnson was the Region III special teams player of the year after capping a stellar career for the Pioneers.  He averaged 38.9 yards per punt with a long of 66 yards this year and also connected on 6 of 12 field goal attempts including four field goals in the football team's Region III Championship victory.  He was named All-Region this year and was a NJCAA All-American last year.  He is credited by his coaching staff as being a quiet leader, a tireless worker, a great teammate, and the all-around definition of a student-athlete.  Johnson has signed with UMASS to continue his athletic and academic career.

Freligh, Chambers, and Johnson were honored at the end of the year athletic awards presentation held in the newly renovated Cappadonia Auditorium.

Other Nominees Included: Amie Brooks: Basketball, Danielle Henry: Soccer, Maggie McBurney: Swimming, Mo Parks: Basketball, and Renee Stanford: Softball

Rasheem Creech: Basketball, Jordan Friedman: Cross Country/Track & Field, Will Houlihan: Track & Field, Josh McDowell: Swimming, Jordan Napierala: Lacrosse, Josh Simons: Wrestling, Josh Stellrecht: Swimming, Cody Williams: Lacrosse