Skip to main content

Academic and Leadership Awards Announced

Academic and Leadership Awards Announced

Academic Award WinnersVolleyball player Amanda Bush (Altoona, PA) was awarded both the Alfred State Athletic Department female academic and leadership awards while Thomas Anderson (Sodus) was named the male academic award winner and Rory Spain (Tully) was the recipient of the male leadership award.

Bush was a two-year starter on the Lady Pioneer volleyball team.  She was one of the better libero's in Region III as a freshman but moved positions this season to setter and became one of the top setter's in Region III this year.  She recorded 903 assists, 253 digs, and 99 kills this year on her way to 2nd team All-Region and 1st team All-WNYAC honors.  She is credited by her coaching staff as a player that always plays hard and as a player that leads by example.  Off the court, Bush holds a 3.85 GPA in Veterinary Technology, holds an executive board office in the Vet Tech program, and spent part of last summer in Haiti on a relief trip.  Earlier in the semester, Bush was honored with the prestigious SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence.

Anderson was a two-year member of the cross country team.  He has earned a 3.89 GPA in the mechanical engineering program.

Spain was a starting linebacker the last two years for the Pioneer football team.  This year he recorded 56 tackles, two sacks, and an interception and has a total of 108 tackles, three sacks, and two interceptions in his career.  He is credited by the football coaching staff for his leadership skills on and off the field and for proving to be a dynamic leader who was almost like having another coach on the field.  He stepped up this year and helped team get better and continues to do so by helping his teammates prepare for next year at spring practices.

Leadership Award WinnersOther Nominations for the Academic Award: Briana Dorsey: Track & Field, Tiffany Fox: Soccer, Shelby Freligh: Softball, Jenna Lynn: Soccer, Mo Parks: Basketball/Softball, Holli Pierce: Soccer, Zinta Rutins: Cross Country, Athena Scavo: Soccer/Softball, and Tara Scholla: Soccer/Softball

Anthony Brown: Wrestling, Mike Carey: Lacrosse, Jordan Friedman: Cross Country/Track & Field, Michael Gee: Soccer, Jake Giglio: Swimming, Mike Hart: Lacrosse, John Langdon: Swimming, Jared Lyons: Football, Joe Markel: Soccer, Jordan Napierala: Football/Lacrosse, Tyler Peet: Wrestling, Tyler Petit: Cross Country, Josh Sanford: Football, Rory Spain: Football, Kiele Wilson: Baseball, and Brad Zacher: Lacrosse

Other Nominations for Leadership Award: Briana Dorsey: Track & Field, Ardaisha Hudson: Basketball, Taylor McCarthy: Softball, and Mo Parks: Basketball

Jordan Friedman: Track & Field, Chance Lowry: Lacrosse, Jake Giglio: Swimming, Joe Markel: Soccer, Rueben Mizrahi: Baseball, Pat Parker: Basketball, Tyler Peet: Wrestling