Skip to main content

2009-10 Student Employee of the Year

2009-10 Student Employee of the Year

Student Records and Financial Services Office and was nominated by his supervisor Margie Morgan, secretary in that office.

Students are nominated on the basis of reliability, initiative, quality of work, disposition, and contribution to employer.

Billings’ duties included maintaining transfer student files, filing documents, providing coverage for the front desk, checking the status of transcript requests and enrollment verifications, and assisting where needed.

In the nomination for the award, Billings was characterized as a reliable worker with a well-developed work ethic. Morgan also noted that Billings is a self-starter who not only completes work assigned to him, but also solicits additional duties. In fact, she notes, he has made suggestions “on improving processes from a student perspective.”

The nomination went on to say, that Billings demonstrated a maturity and professionalism in the performance of his duties while exhibiting a sense of humor and leadership abilities beyond that of typical college students.

Other nominees included

Anthony Bomba, Rochester, a business administration, baccalaureate-level major, who served as a student ambassador team leader for the Admissions Office. He was nominated by Kandi Geibel, associate director, and Julie Barber, admissions assistant. Bomba’s responsibilities included supervising the student caller and tour guide programs, providing campus tours, training new student ambassadors, contacting prospective students by phone, and assisting in the Admissions Office as needed.

Bomba’s nomination noted that reliability is one of his key traits as the student caller program is run during the evening, so his dependability was paramount to the program’s success. Also mentioned were his outgoing and friendly personality which was a tremendous asset when dealing with prospective students and their families as well as his diligence, going so far as offering to return to campus during his spring internship to help out with the open house programs!

Cody Halas, Fredonia, an Automotive Trades, and Bonnie Perkins, keyboard specialist, Automotive Trades.

Halas’ nomination read, in part, “Cody is a dependable and inventive hard worker who gets the job, any job, done efficiently and pleasantly. Maybe his greatest contribution has been how he shows by example that Alfred State has some of the best student talent of any college around. He engenders confidence that our graduates will indeed make us look good when he enters the workforce.”

Holly Jacobs, Dansville, a baccalaureate-level surveying engineering technology program major, was nominated by her supervisor, Nikkie Hockenberry, Student Senate operations assistant, for her work as an orientation coordinator. In this position, Jacobs is one of two coordinators who take the lead for hiring, training, planning, and implementing orientation activities and opening week activities.

Hockenberry was effusive in her commendation of Jacobs, noting that she can be counted on for whatever needs to be done; she is a self-starter who looks beyond her assigned duties, possesses great organizational skills, exhibits an even-tempered disposition, and does exceptional work.

Bethany Jones, Kirkwood, a drafting/CAD: technical illustration major, also nominated by Hockenberry, was cited for her reliability, initiative, great attitude for her work as the lead house manager of the Pioneer Lounge. Hockenberry noted Jones’ abilities in overseeing the facilities management, staff, programming, and good judgment in overseeing the Pioneer Lounge on the Alfred campus.

Andrea Goff, Arcade, a construction management engineering technology major, was also nominated by Hockenberry, for her work as lead house manager in Orvis. Goff was cited for her dependability, initiative, and consistent quality work. In addition, Hockenberry noted that Goff has “an amazing attitude; she is outgoing and friendly, and speaks to all facets of student activities and orientation.”

Andre Jacobs, Bronx, an information technology: network administration major, was nominated by Hockenberry for his work as assistant lead house manager/late night co-captain, where he is responsible for assisting with the facilities and staff management of the Orvis Activities Center and plans and coordinates ASC’s “late night” events. Jacobs’ nomination notes that “Andre’s contributions are many: he is organized, skillful, a natural leader, punctual, and above all, dedicated to this department.”

Keith Barnes, Leroy, an Computer Imaging and Architectural Technology department offices. In the nomination, Parise notes: “The quality of Keith’s work is excellent. He always has a positive attitude and works quickly without complaint.” His work has never had to be re-done.

Minica DiBella, Endwell, an architectural technology major, was nominated by her supervisor, Mary Hoffman, for her clerical work in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology department offices. DiBella’s nomination characterized her as “detail-oriented and conscientious.”

Zachary Becker, Waverly, a mechanical engineering technology major, was nominated by Marlee Cannon, peer tutoring coordinator, Wellsville campus, for his work as a peer tutor and supplemental instruction leader. Becker was described as “more than a peer tutor; he’s like a teaching assistant. He meets with his tutees’ instructors to find out what each student needs. He will report on his tutees’ classroom and lab progress which helps me in counseling them academically.”

Jamie Woods, Canisteo, an architectural technology major, was nominated by her supervisor Mary Scholla, secretary to the dean of the School of Management and Engineering Technology, for her work as an office assistant. Her nomination read, in part: “Jamie worked in this office before I arrived, and knew how things worked. She helped ‘train’ me.”

Megan O’Donnell, Dryden, an architectural technology major, was nominated by Lisa Coombs, her supervisor in the Math and Physics Department offices, where she assists professors and the secretary (Coombs) with any clerical help they might need, including making copies, collating evaluation packets, covering the office when the secretary is away from her desk, running errands, and performing the myriad daily tasks associated with a busy academic office. O’Donnell was cited for her upbeat personality, her can-do attitude, and the speed and accuracy with which she performs her duties.

Christie Tarey, Wyoming, a Social and Behavioral Sciences Department, for her clerical work in that office. Her nomination notes that “Christie is skilled in using office equipment and techniques to complete a job. She familiarizes herself quickly with how things are done in our department which makes us all more productive.”

A reception honoring the nominees was held during the spring semester, where Alfred State College President Dr. John M. Anderson gave opening remarks, and Vice President for Administration and Enrollment Valerie Nixon presented the awards.

Students nominated as Student Employee of the Year

Pictured here, far left: Dennis Billings, 2009-10 Alfred State College Student Employee of the Year. Other nominees and honored guests included, l-r: Zachary Becker, Megan O’Donnell, Holly Jacobs, Andrea Goff, Bethany Jones, Andre Jacobs, Jamie Woods, ASC President Dr. John M. Anderson, Minica DiBella, Christie Tarey, ASC Vice President for Administration and Enrollment, Valerie Nixon; and Keith Barnes. Missing from photo: Anthony Bomba and Cody Halas.