Skip to main content

13th Annual Regional Science and Technology Fair Great Success

13th Annual Regional Science and Technology Fair Great Success

Student displays from nine local school districts (Allegany-Limestone, Prattsburgh, Hinsdale, Genesee Valley Central, Addison, Andover, Portville, Canaseraga, Canisteo-Greenwood) were judged at Alfred State’s 13th Annual Regional Science and Technology Fair. Ninety-two science and technology projects were on display for judging and public viewing. Participants were divided into senior (grades 10-12), junior (grades 7-9), and novice grade categories.

A total of 108 students presented their projects to the judges for a chance at the $1,590 in prize money.

Winners in the senior division included first place ($250) Troy Giberson and Clay Johnson (Portville) with “Coming in Hot”; second place($150) Kristyn Hayman (Hinsdale) with “A Silent Shout;” and third place ($100) Jonathan Cledgett (Hinsdale) with “Subliminal Perception.”

Winners in the junior division included first place ($250) Jacob Vroman (Addison) with “Wood Gasification;” second place ($150) Hannah Schifley (Allegany Limestone) with “Can You Hear This;” and third place ($100) Alyssa Ryan and Gabby Crane (Addison) with “The Quicker Picker Upper.”

Winners in the novice division included first place ($50) Rebecca Randall (Prattsburgh) with “It’s Super Cool H2O;” second place ($25) Hallie Weinmann (GVCS) with “Busting Bacteria;” and third place ($15) Mariah Swarthout (GVCS) with “Hot Ice.”

Best junior division school winner: (Silver Tray) - Hinsdale

Best senior division school winner: (Silver Tray) - Portville

The grand prize ($500) was captured by Seth Sklar (Hinsdale) with “Hover Car”.

Each participant received a certificate of participation, and individual ribbons were presented to first-, second-, and third-place prize winners in all divisions. The prizes were sponsored by Alstom Transportation, Alfred State Student Senate, Alfred State Physical and Health Sciences Department, Wards Scientific, Fisher Scientific, and Bio-Rad laboratories.

Judges for this year’s event were Alfred State faculty and staff members James Buell, Garth Grantier, Wayne Bensley, David Kendall, Jerry Fong, Mike Putnam, Chris Young, Mark Amman, Cindy Thorp, Phil Schroeder, Erica Matteson, Tim Bocci, Alicia Wheaton, Mike Foster, Russell Huber, Jessica Hutchinson, Terry Morgan; guest judges were Paul Constantine, Sr. and student judges: Chris McAneney, Laura Lampman, Nicky Drum, Derek Wilkinson, Burton Price, Michelle Miles, Meghan Scholl, Nichole Terwilliger, and Megan Smith.