National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards".

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The Alfred State Bachelor of Architecture program was granted initial accreditation status – retroactive to Jan. 1, 2018 – for the following professional degree program in architecture:

  • BArch (156 credit hours).
  • Next accreditation visit for the 5-year Bachelor of Architecture Program: Spring 2022

Accreditation Reports and Responses:

Hard copies of reports can be found in the office of the Department of Architecture and Design, Engineering Technologies Building, Room 360

National Architectural Accrediting Board Documents:

Career Development Information:

Architect Registration Examination (ARE) pass rates: