June 2011


Ed Foundation Funds Students Through Work-grant Program
Thu, Jun 30th, 2011

For award year 2010-11, 17 students from Engineering, Nursing, Instructional Technologies, Communications, Student Records and Financial Services, Student Activities, and English & Humanities earned a total of $9,130.07 from the Work Grant Program.

Arroyo Named New Alfred State Athletic Director
Mon, Jun 27th, 2011

Alfred State College Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Steve Tyrell has announced that Dr. Daryl Arroyo has been named the new Director of Athletics, Physical Education, Recreation and Intramurals.  Arroyo, who succeeds Kathy Feldman, begins his new duties at Alfred State on June 29. 

ASC Students Chosen for Internship with LeChase Construction
Tue, Jun 14th, 2011

Two Alfred State College (ASC) construction management engineering technology students, Zachary Towner, Hamlin, and Andrew Meeder, Dale, have been chosen by LeChase Construction, LLC, Rochester, to work with the company on construction management for the campus student leadership center which is currently under construction.

ASC President Responds to Governor's Proposal
Thu, Jun 9th, 2011

In response to NYS Gov. Andrew Cuomo's bill to implement the NYSUNY 2020 Challenge Grant Program, Alfred State College President Dr. John M. Anderson issued the following statement:

Frey Named All-American
Wed, Jun 8th, 2011

Alfred State College baseball player JP Frey (Erie, PA/McDowell) has been named a NJCAA Division III 3rd team All-American.  Frey is the sixth baseball All-American since the baseball program was reinstated in 1994.

Retirees Honored
Tue, Jun 7th, 2011

Seated, l-r: Pratt, Washburn, Crandall, and Feldman; standing, l-r: Foreman, Kellogg, Perkins, Grant, Drake, and Andrus.Retirees of Alfred State College were honored recently at the school's annual recognition luncheon. All retirees received a certificate and an engraved pewter plate to commemorate their time at the college.

Faculty and Staff Promotions
Tue, Jun 7th, 2011

Jayne Swanson and Hollie Hall Included among those receiving promotions and their new titles are, in the President’s Office: Hollie Hall, executive assistant to the president, and Jayne Swanson, Belfast, associate vice president for Academic Affairs.

WINS Club Spring Fund Raiser
Tue, Jun 7th, 2011

David Knoop, Joy Carlson, and Melanie Anderson Four checks totaling $240 were sent to the Alfred Station Food Pantry, the Salvation Army in Wellsville, Steuben Rural Ministry, and to Both Your Hands in Alden.

ASC Employees Honored With Pioneer Award
Thu, Jun 2nd, 2011

President Dr. John M. Anderson, center, congratulates, l-r: Piotrowski, Coombs, Petrilli, and ConklinThis year’s winners included Tim Piotrowski, Lisa Coombs, Glen Cline, Christine Petrilli, and Sue Conklin.

ASC Employees Honored With Innovation Award
Thu, Jun 2nd, 2011

Anderson, center, congratulates Green and Johnston, each holding their award.Honored for their “creative approaches to their respective disciplines,” Jeffrey Johnston, assistant professor, Michelle Green, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, Physical and H

ASC Employees Honored For 10 Years of Service
Thu, Jun 2nd, 2011

Meade, Gross, Khan, and Gallicchio; standing, l-r: Dr. John M. Anderson, Conklin, York, Amidon, Welker, D’Arcy, and Petrick.Employees honored for 10 years included Casey Gross, Mark D’Arcy, Debra Mayes, Patricia Amidon, Priscilla Cusson, Sue Conklin, Jo Ellen York, Karen Meade, Rachel Russo, Deborah Kozlowski, Erin Vitale, Dominic Gallicchio, Paul Welke

ASC Employees Honored For 20 Years of Service
Thu, Jun 2nd, 2011

Yatani, Stewart, Martinelli, and Palmer; standing, l-r: President Dr. John M. Anderson, Torpey, Boyd, and BretzinThose employees honored for 20 years included Steven Martinelli, Paula Nichols,

ASC Employees Honored For 25 Years of Service
Wed, Jun 1st, 2011

President Dr. John M. Anderson, Andrew Bayus, Patricia Lewis-Brownell, Deborah Neu, James Jerla, and Roger Elias Those ASC employees honored for 25 years included Andrew Bayus, Patricia Lewis-Brownell, Larry Drumm, Roger Elias, James Jerla, Deborah Neu, and Robert Rees.

ASC Employees Honored For 30 Years of Service
Wed, Jun 1st, 2011

Dr. John M. Anderson, Neil Benedict, Kathleen Bayus, and Elizabeth TurnerThose honored for 30 years included Cherylene Furlong, Lawrence Perkins, Neil Benedict, Linda Jessup, Kathleen Bayus, Ronald Nichols, and Elizabeth Turner.

Damrath and Lawrence Honored With SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence
Wed, Jun 1st, 2011

Joseph Damrath, President Dr. John M. Anderson, and April LawrenceDamrath and Lawrence are among more than 100 classroom teachers, librarians, and professional service employees in the SUNY system cited for excellence in the performance of their duties.