- Parking Regulations
- Traffic Regulations
- Shuttle Service - Alfred Campus
If you have any concerns with parking, please e-mail email@example.com .
The parking and traffic regulations set forth have been established pursuant to Trustees’ Resolution 72-186 relating to vehicular and pedestrian traffic and parking so that an orderly pattern of motor vehicle control on campus may be achieved. The Vehicle and Traffic Law shall apply upon the highways, streets, roads, and sidewalks owned or controlled by the State University of New York (SUNY). Orders of the Department of Transportation heretofore or hereafter promulgated for SUNY shall continue in full force and effect.
It is strongly recommended that the following regulations and guidelines be read carefully. All persons driving on this campus are responsible for knowing and understanding these rules. Ignorance of the enacted rules and regulations is no excuse for illegal parking or other offenses.
For the purpose of these regulations, campus boundaries consist of all properties owned and/or controlled by the College.
Operating a motor vehicle on campus properties is a privilege and constitutes acceptance by the owner and/or operator of the responsibility to assure that his vehicle is neither parked nor operated in violation of any applicable state law or regulation, including the Vehicle and Traffic Law, applicable orders of the Department of Transportation, and SUNY traffic regulation.
This College assumes no responsibility for a vehicle or its contents. This includes any damage caused by moving, towing, or storage.
These regulations apply to all operators of motor vehicles on College property, including faculty, staff, students, and visitors. Motor vehicle is defined in Section 125, New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law.
The private operation of snowmobiles, dirt bikes, and all-terrain vehicles on College-owned and controlled properties is prohibited.
The vehicle registration and ticket function is under the direction of the Chief of University Police and undertakes the enforcement of parking and traffic regulations.
All vehicles, including automobiles, trucks, motorbikes, motorcycles, and other motor-operated vehicles to be operated or parked on College property, must be registered at the University Police Department in the Theta Gamma House on the Alfred campus and in the Student Services Building on the Wellsville campus. Visitors should register their vehicles as soon as practical to avoid enforcement violations. Information and assistance regarding vehicle registration can be found 24-hours a day, seven days a week at the University Police Department located in the Theta Gamma House.
- The faculty and staff annual vehicle registration fee is $5 per vehicle.
- The annual student registration fee is $95 ($84 will be dedicated for student parking enhancement).
- Lost or stolen permits will require a replacement fee of $10 for students and $5 for faculty and staff.
- Students may only register one vehicle at a time and are not allowed second and additional permits.
- If a student changes vehicles, they may transfer their hang tag and notify the University Police of the vehicle change at no charge.
- An additional “project car” used in connection with enrollment in an automotive program will be given a special permit that allows the vehicle to be parked at the program’s location at no additional charge.
- Temporary parking registration permits are now free of charge. Students and faculty/staff will only be issued a maximum total of (14 days) for permits for the academic year. Temporary permits are not to be considered an alternative option to registering your vehicle for the academic year to avoid the mandated parking registration fee. They are to be used for circumstances when you fail to have your permanent permit.
- Any changes in vehicle registration plate number must be updated at the University Police Department in the Theta Gamma House.
- Alfred State student parking permits are not transferable between persons. Any citations issued to this registration permit are the responsibility of the individual who purchased the permit.
- It is the responsibility of the owner or person registering the vehicle to see that other drivers of his vehicle know and adhere to these regulations.
- The theft of a permit should be reported immediately to the University Police.
- Part-time continuing education students must register their vehicles.
- A student who is a spouse, son, or daughter of a faculty/staff member must register the vehicle he/she is operating in accordance with the student registration regulation. A student’s use, or attempted use, of another person’s faculty/staff permit to gain access to designated faculty/staff parking areas is prohibited and may result in a loss of parking privileges on campus.
- Any veteran, as defined in section 360 of the New York State Education Law, in attendance as a student at the college shall be exempt from parking fees upon submission by the veteran of a written request for exemption together with written certification by the veteran that such veteran was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from such service.
- Students - each registered vehicle will be issued a hang tag that must be displayed from the rear view mirror of the vehicle. The hang tag is not transferable between persons. The hang tag is transferable between vehicles (e.g., the student obtains a new vehicle).
- Faculty/Staff - must display hang tag from rear view mirror of the vehicle. The tag may be temporarily transferred to another vehicle if driving another vehicle to campus.
Authorized Parking Areas
Parking signs have been erected indicating designated parking areas for freshmen, upperclassmen, and commuters. The Alfred parking map  and Wellsville parking map  will help to further identify these specified areas. Vehicular parking in any area not shown (including walkways, roadways, ramp areas, areas adjacent to buildings, etc.) is prohibited. No person shall park a vehicle on the College premises in such a manner as to interfere with the use of a fire hydrant, fire lane, or other emergency zone; create any other hazard; or unreasonably interfere with the free and proper use of a roadway or pedestrian walkway.
- There are several handicap parking spaces on campus. A vehicle displaying the NYS plates or cards may park in these spaces as per the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law.
- Visitor or campus guest temporary parking permits should be displayed on the rear-view mirror of the vehicle. Persons desiring to stay overnight on campus must obtain a special parking permit.
- Vehicles to be worked on in one of the auto shops on the Wellsville campus are to be registered with the faculty member and with University Police.
- All students holding a valid student parking permit, regardless of classification (freshman, upperclassman, commuter), may use the commuter parking lots after 5 p.m. and until 7 a.m. (overnight) all days except for a blackout period commencing when residence halls close for Thanksgiving break and concluding when residence halls reopen from Spring Break. This blackout period allows the College to maintain empty lots to facilitate snow removal efforts and related parking lot rotations. During this blackout period, only commuters may use these lots and commuters must move their vehicle out by 1 a.m. (until 7 a.m.).
- All commuters holding a valid commuter parking permit may use the the following faculty and staff parking lots between the hours of 5 p.m. and midnight: Lots 6, 7, 10, 11, 28 and 29 to allow for night classes, labs, library usage, etc.
Existing hard-surfaced parking areas have painted lines identifying parking spaces. Parking elsewhere or in an undesignated parking space in the area is prohibited. There are student parking areas located at the bus garage and greenhouse areas. There is bus transportation during the day to the Alfred campus from these lots.
All parking areas are subject to change or closing due to construction or any unforeseen need.
Students are prohibited from parking in faculty and staff parking areas at any time.
Commuters are not authorized to park in any faculty and staff lot. Commuters may, however, park in all other student lots (including freshmen and upperclassmen areas).
Vehicle Access to Residence Halls
Students are afforded special parking privileges not to exceed 15 minutes for the purpose of loading and unloading in front of residence halls. The vehicle’s four-way flashers are to be on during this time.
The council of each State University unit shall adopt campus rules and regulations, not inconsistent with the Vehicle and Traffic Law, relating to vehicular parking, vehicular and pedestrian traffic, and safety. All such rules shall be submitted to SUNY for review and action.
Traffic regulations on campus roadways are posted in accordance with the Manual of Uniform Traffic Controls.
The maximum permissible speed is 25 miles per hour unless otherwise posted (radar controlled). No person shall drive a vehicle on College streets, roads, or highways at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regards to the actual and potential hazards then existing. Full stop at all stop signs is required. Pedestrians have the right-of-way. Yield signs must be strictly observed.
University Police Departments are empowered to enforce all ordinances and laws pertaining to traffic regulations.
The summons regarding any violation of a campus rule shall be in writing, stating the nature of the violation, as well as the time and location of the violation.
A. The summons must be subscribed by the officer witnessing the violation and shall be served upon the violator or attached to the vehicle involved.
B. The summons shall indicate the amount of the fine assessable for the violation, and advise that if the person charged does not dispute the violation, the fine must be paid at the University Police Department, Theta Gamma House, within five (5) days of the date of issuance. The Vehicle Registration and Ticket Office is located in the Theta Gamma House on the Alfred campus and in the Student Services area on the Wellsville campus. Fines may also be paid at the Student Records and Financial Services Office located in the Agriculture Science Building.
C. The summons shall indicate that an appeal may be requested within five (5) days of the date of issuance by appearing in person at the University Police Department in the Theta Gamma House. Reminder, appeals must be generated within five days of ticket issuance - campus tickets only. If your appeal is submitted later than five days, it will not be considered.
D. Appeals are completed and submitted in writing.
E. The summons shall note that should the alleged violator fail to appeal within the period as prescribed by the College Council in subparagraph “C” above, the complaint is proved and shall warrant such action as may then be appropriate.
The chief administrative officer shall designate a hearing panels or boards not to exceed three persons to hear complaints for violation of campus traffic and parking regulations enforceable on campus. Such hearing boards shall not be bound by the rules of evidence but may hear or receive any testimony or evidence directly relevant to the issues presented. Each panel will consist of one faculty member, one staff member, and one student.
At the conclusion of the appeal process, such hearing panel shall file a report. A notice of the decision shall be promptly transmitted to the violator. The report shall include:
- the name and address of the alleged violator;
- the time and place when the complaint was issued;
- the campus rule violated;
- a concise statement of the facts established based upon the testimony or other evidence offered;
- the decision (guilty or not guilty) of the hearing panel or board.
F. All decisions by the hearing board are final.
Parking violations may be paid or appealed at the University Police Department in the Theta Gamma House.
Payment envelopes are available at the University Police Department, Theta Gamma House. These envelopes, with the ticket and payment enclosed, can be deposited at any time in the drop box at the Theta Gamma House.
Fines are payable on the Alfred campus in the University Police Department drop box or on the Wellsville campus at the Student Services Office. If you wish to handle this matter by mail, please mail your check or money order for the amount indicated on the violation payable to Alfred State, Alfred, New York 14802.
Fines may also be paid at the Student Records and Financial Services Office located in the Agriculture Science Building.
The following is a list of violations and fines:
|Vehicle not registered||$25|
|No parking, stopping, or standing||$25|
|No parking 1 - 7 a.m.||$25|
|Improper permit for location||$25|
|Out of space||$25|
|Expired parking meter||$10|
Payment and Collection of Fines:
It will be the responsibility of each alleged violator to pay the full and correct amount of any fine(s). The prosecution and collection of fines involving visitors shall be in accordance with applicable law. In the case of students, grades and transcripts shall be withheld and the student will not be eligible to register for classes until any and all overdue and unpaid fine(s) is satisfied. In addition, overdue and unpaid fines may be referred to a collection agency and any additional fees incurred will be added to the outstanding balance due. Three or more unanswered complaints in an 18-month period by the same person regarding violations of a campus parking rule, shall result in a referral of the registered vehicle owner to the New York State Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for review in considering the renewal of an operator’s license and/or a motor vehicle registration, and the imposition of a fee as approved by the campus president or designee to meet the administrative costs of such referral.”
In addition, parking privileges may be revoked.
Vehicles parked in violation of regulations that include handicapped, fire lane, sidewalks, blocking access, or where signs and lot markings prohibit parking may be removed or towed away at the owner’s expense.
Vehicle owners receiving and failing to pay three (3) or more tickets are subject to being towed or having a wheel lock placed on the vehicle at the owner’s expense.
If the wheel lock is placed on a vehicle, the added cost is $35 plus $5 a day for four (4) days. All campus tickets must also be paid. After four (4) days if the wheel lock costs and all outstanding campus tickets are not paid, the vehicle will be towed by a local garage at an additional charge at the owner’s expense.
A motor vehicle shall be deemed abandoned if left more than 48-hours in one spot without permission. The vehicle shall be disposed of in accord with the Vehicle and Traffic Law, Section 1224.
Faculty, staff, or student parking privileges may be revoked upon finding that three (3) or more campus parking violations have been incurred.
A shuttle bus is available through ACES. Learn more about transportation services. 
The foregoing rules and regulations are subject to change to comply with NYS legislative action and revision to SUNY parking and traffic procedures.
Adopted by the Alfred State Council at a regular meeting on Aug. 30, 1972, and amended July 5, 1978, and Nov. 15, 1989.
Amended and promulgated by the College Council Feb. 3, 2010, and approved by the President of Alfred State, Feb. 5, 2010.
Effective August 16, 2012