Devon Clark inducted into Alfred State chapter of Sigma Lambda Chi honor society

Printer-friendly version Posted Date: Tuesday, May 7, 2019 - 15:45

Devon Clark, a construction management student from Perrysburg, was recently inducted into the Zeta V Chapter of the Sigma Lambda Chi (SLC) International Construction Management Honor Society at Alfred State.

Civil Engineering Technology Professor Timothy Piotrowski serves as the adviser to student members, all of whom are construction management majors. In addition to Piotrowski, several other faculty members and students participated in the installation ceremony, including Professor and Department Chair Erin Vitale; Assistant Professor Dr. Reza Yadollahi; Nick Wilder, Eden; Doug Horbachewski, Hamburg; Ashton Roberts, Holland Patent; Jon Weaver, Palmyra; Joe Johnson, North Chili; Luke Podyma, Eden; Robert Sturtz, Marion.

Sigma Lambda Chi is an international honor society within the construction industry. Chapters may be established at a school, college, or university that has a major discipline of education in construction.

To be installed by a chapter, a student must be at least a junior and have a GPA in the upper 20 percent of qualified students in the program. They must also have participated in one or more extracurricular activities; demonstrated excellent leadership, character, and personality traits; and worked in some phase of construction for at least one summer or winter break.

Membership in this society is certainly an important milestone in a student’s college career and indicates a significant accomplishment for the inductee, as well as to potential employers. Members are permitted to wear the memorabilia associated with the society at graduation for further recognition.

several people standing on the stairs smiling
Pictured at Alfred State’s 2019 Sigma Lambda Chi honor society induction ceremony are, front row, from left to right, Joe Johnson and new inductee Devon Clark; second row, from left, Ashton Roberts, Luke Podyma, Professor and Department Chair Erin Vitale, and Robert Sturtz; third row, from left, Professor Timothy Piotrowski, Jon Weaver, and Assistant Professor Dr. Reza Yadollahi; back row, from left, Nick Wilder and Doug Horbachewski.