New members inducted into Phi Theta Kappa honor society chapter

Printer-friendly version Posted Date: Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 09:30

A total of 23 new members were recently inducted into Alfred State College’s chapter of the world’s largest and most prestigious honor society for two-year college students, Phi Theta Kappa.

Alpha Sigma Mu, the name of Alfred State’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, was established in 1992. Its mission is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. In order to be considered for Phi Theta Kappa, students must achieve a 3.5 overall GPA and maintain a 3.25 GPA throughout their college career.

New inductees include:

As of the 2017-2018 academic year, Alpha Sigma Mu is advised by five faculty and staff advisers: Dr. Aniko Constantine, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor; KathyAnn Sager, assistant professor of Nursing; Danielle Green, chair of the Business Department; Mary Hoffman, secretary to the dean of Arts and Sciences; and Mark Bloxsom, assistant professor of Business.

Although Alfred State has been holding induction ceremonies for decades, this year was a benchmark for the school’s chapter. Alpha Sigma Mu’s advisers decided it was time to take the honor society to the next level by becoming more involved and establishing a greater presence on campus and in the community.

As a result, Alpha Sigma Mu was able to induct three new and existing members into the first-ever Phi Theta Kappa Board of Officers for the Alpha Sigma Mu chapter. These officers are Rachel Von Hagn, a nursing major from Bath (president); Alexandra Woodworth, a veterinary technology major from Olean (vice president); and Katie Lengvarsky, a business administration major from Portville (recording officer and public relations officer).

The new officers are highly motivated and excited to get started on their work for the chapter, focusing on fundraising for important causes, charitable work, building the community, and encouraging academic excellence by example.