Construction Management Students Earn 3rd Place Honor in Major Competition

Six Alfred State construction management engineering technology students placed third in the Associated Schools of Construction, Region 1 competition, a major east coast event held last week in Morristown, NJ.

This annual construction management challenge involved 30 student teams, competing in three building categories. Seventeen leading engineering schools including such prestigious colleges and universities as University of Maine, NJ Institute of Technology, Old Dominion University, Polytechnic Institute of NYU, Central Connecticut State University, R.I.T, Drexel University, and Clarkson University had teams entered in the events.

Competing in Region 1 (Heavy/Highway Category), Alfred State’s team prepared a construction cost estimate and schedule, outlined their proposed construction means and methods for the project and did an oral presentation to a panel of construction experts to take the third place honor. Members of the team include Dan Snyder, Josh Morehouse, Kody Haney, Ryan Dempsey, Clint Brewer, and Zack Van Deusen.

A second Alfred State team also competed in the event and received impressive peer feedback acknowledging their efforts as having possibly produced the most accurate construction cost estimate in the 13 team division. Members of this team include: Andrew Gauthier, Brad Marshall, Steve Hickey, Rob Colwell, Nick Antonioli, and Chris Drazan.

students who competed in the Region 1

Alfred State students who competed in the Region 1 (Heavy/Highway Category) of the Associated Schools of Construction competition and earned 3rd place are, from left, Dan Snyder, Rochester (14624); Zack Van Deusen, Binghamton; Clint Brewer, Portville; Josh Morehouse, Cortland; Ryan Dempsey, Batavia; Kody Haney, Scio; and Asst. Professor Tim Piotrowski.

second team of Alfred State students

A second team of Alfred State students also competed in the event. They are, from left, Nick Antonioli, Almond: Steve Hickey, Fairport; Andrew Gauthier, Central Square; Brad Marshall, Windsor; Chris Drazan, Hannacroix; Rob Colwell, Windsor.