1994 Softball Team to Be Honored at Homecoming

The 1994 Alfred State softball team will be honored during the Hall of Fame ceremony during Homecoming/Family Weekend activities this weekend.

The '94 team coached by Gina Boyd is the only softball team in program history to win a Region III title.  The Lady Pioneers won the Region III title with a 14-5 record.  They advanced to the NJCAA National Championships in Hutchinson, Kansas where they battled and lost two tough games.

The members of the team included Darcie Stewart, Lisa Mignone, Heidi Dobson, Darcie Loper, Ann Peangatelli, Deena Drake, Amy Hast, Cassie Olds, Vicki Edwards, Kristi Loper, Jodie Corsi, and Shannon Nicholson.  Kathy Feldman served as the assistant coach for Boyd.

Alfred State began honoring teams as part of their Hall of Fame ceremonies in 2009 and the 1994 softball team is the fourth to be honored and the first female team.

The 2012 Hall of Fame Ceremony will take place on Friday, Oct. 12th at 6 p.m. in the Cappadonia Auditorium located inside the Orvis Auditorium.