Two from Alfred State Appointed to WNY Cleaner, Greener Communities Program

Two administrators at Alfred State – Dr. Terry Tucker, dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, and Julian Dautremont-Smith, chief sustainability officer – have been appointed to the Western New York regional planning team of the Cleaner, Greener Communities Program (CGC). The initiative is administered by the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA).

"The sustainability of Alfred State is directly linked to the sustainability of our region, so I'm delighted to contribute to this effort," said Dautremont-Smith, a member of the Energy Working Group for the regional program. He and Tucker, a member of the Agriculture and Forestry Working Group, will help develop a regional sustainability plan for the Western New York region, defined by the Regional Economic Development Council (REDC) as including the counties of Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, and Niagara.

The plan is part of the first phase of CGC, in which consortiums – composed of the lead municipality, partner municipalities, planning team, and other stakeholders like private sector businesses, universities, and nonprofit organizations – are working to develop comprehensive sustainability plans for each region. The plans must include a baseline assessment, description of existing efforts, and a vision for long- and short-term goals and objectives.

The second phase of the CGC program, set to launch in 2013, involves funding for specific projects aimed at reduced carbon emissions, energy savings, and renewable energy initiatives. NYSERDA will award approximately $90 million on a competitive basis to sustainability projects that are consistent with the submitted plans.

About the CGC
The Cleaner, Greener Communities Program, a $100 million grant program announced in 2011 by Gov. Andrew Cuomo and administered by NYSERDA, “empowers regions to create more sustainable communities by funding smart growth practices.” The goal of the CGC is to enable and encourage municipalities and communities to develop and implement sustainable plans and programs, improving economic and environmental factors in the area. Seven of the 10 regions have received funding and are currently developing regional sustainability plans.