Lady Pioneers Win, Men 3rd at ASC Invitational

The Alfred State College women's cross country team scored a perfect score as they won the ASC Invitational on Saturday.  The men's team finished 3rd out of five teams at the annual event.

Kim Lupo (Auburn) won the women's individual title with a 5k run of 22:37.85.  Diana Burley (Warsaw) was 2nd (22:48.9), Emily Geesaman (Addison) was 3rd (23:04.15), Tara Murphy (Rochester/Wilson) was 4th (23:34.85), and Claire Holleran (Penfield) was 5th (23:50.29).

The Lady Pioneers scored a perfect 10 for the event as team scores were based on the top four finishers.  Onodaga CC was 2nd with 40 and Herkimer CCC was 3rd with 43.

On the men's side, Finger Lakes CC won the team championship with 47 points followed by Onondaga (53), ASC (60), North Country CC (84), and Herkimer CCC (102).

Onondaga's Kevin Zych won the individual title with a 8k run of 30:33.27.  FLCC's Jordan Merritt was 2nd (30:48.61) followed by ASC's top finisher Brian Gooshaw (Elmira Heights/Thomas Edison) in 3rd (31:15.03).

Other top ASC finishers included; Tyler Petit (Mexico) - 5th (32:27.86), Jordan Friedman (Clarkstown South) - 10th (34:05.70), Tom Lattanzi (Kings Park) - 20th (35:54.97).

The Pioneers return to action next Saturday when they travel to FLCC for the annual Bruce Bridgeman Classic.  Action is slated to begin at 11 a.m.