Five Football Players honored by NFC

Calvin CorbinMike SepthJohn ChisolmThe Alfred State College football team had five players honored by being named All-Northeast Football Conference.  Mike Septh (Monroe Woodbury), John Chisolm (Trenton, NJ), and Calvin Corbin (Winslow, NJ) were named to the 1st team while Vince DiMarco (Webster Thomas) and Nick Monroe (Irondequoit) were named 2nd team.

Septh had a monster year at the wide receiver position for the Blue and Gold.  He played in all ten games and had 44 receptions for 925 yards and 12 scores.  He had over 100-yards receving in six games and caught multiple touchdown passes in four games.  He leads the NFC in receptions/game, receiving yards/game, and points/game.  Earlier in the year he was named the NJCAA offensive player of the week.

Chisolm made a successful move from offensive to defense this year.  The cornerback led the NFC and broke the Alfred State single season record with nine interceptions on the season.  He also chipped in 25 tackles (15 solo) and 18 pass break-ups.  He recorded multiple interceptions in three games including four interceptions versus Stevens Tech.  After the first week of the season he was named NFC defensive player of the week and the NJCAA defensive player of the week.

Corbin was honored as the 1st team return specialist.  He returned 12 kicks for 328 yards and one score of 78 yards he also returned nine punts for 125 yards and two scores (46 and 50 yards).  In the Pioneers victory over the Niagara X-Men he returned a punt and a kick-off for a touchdown.  He was named NFC special team's player of the week twice.  On the offensive side, Corbin finished with 292 yards rushing on 53 carries and 395 yards and three touchdowns receiving.

Vince DiMarcoNick MonroeDiMarco started at center in the Pioneers first nine games before suffering an injury that kept him out of the season finale.  DiMarco and his fellow linemen helped ASC to 286.1 yards per game.

Monroe led the Blue and Gold with 71 tackles on the season.  41 of his tackles were unassisted, 16 were for a loss of 61 yards, and five were sacks resulting in a loss of 31 yards.  He also was credited with two pass break-ups.

Aaron Valentin (Erie CC) was named the NFC Offensive Player of the Year while Mike Balogun (Lackawanna) was named the Defensive Player of the Year.  Dean College's Todd Vasey was named Coach of the Year and Dean College earned the league championship.