Lady Pioneers finish 6th, Pioneers finish 8th at Nationals

199 athletes representing 28 different NJCAA Division III cross country programs competed in the mud at Alfred State at the 2006 National Championships.  Gloucester (NJ) County College won their first ever National title on the women's side while SUNY Delhi won the men's title for the third straight year.

The Alfred State Cross Country program had a strong showing.  The women's team finished 6th with 125 points while the men finished 8th with 208 points.

SUNY Cobleskill's April Ackermann won the women's individual title in 21:25.50.  She finished ahead of Herkimer CCC's Sarah Lazarus (22:01.47), Erie CC's Anna Bogdanets (22:08.82), Harper College's Nicole Anderson (22:17.01), and Gloucester CC's Lisa Jones (22:18.02).

Michelle Sadler (Horseheads) was the top Lady Pioneer finisher.  She ran the 5K course in 23:52.49 to earn 20th place.  Angie Corby (Horseheads) finished 28th (24:34.41), Nicole D'Andrea (Rush Henrietta) finished 42nd (25:44.48), Jennifer Chan (Genesee Valley) finished 43rd (25:46.29), and Rachel Shellman (Honeoye Falls) finsihed 46th (26:12.37).

Gloucester head coach Ryan Hughes was named both the Coach of the Championships and the Coach of the Year.

John Fry of the College of DuPage (IL) won the men's individual title.  He finished the 8K course in 28:33.14.  SUNY Delhi's Matt Conant finished 2nd (28:55.93), Delhi's Ben Jackson finished 3rd (29:18.22), Harper College's Pat Walsh finished 4th (30:05.74), and Cobleskill's Creig Levens finished 5th (30:22.81).

Zak Williamson (Rocky Point) earned 3rd team NJCAA All-American honors with an 11th place finish (30:49.87).  Jacob Metzger (Penfield) finished 32:30.07, Mike DiRoma (Shoreham Wading River) finished 54th (33:28.13), Ian Vanderbrook (Kenmore East) finished 64th (33:48.81), and Aaron Nawrot (Clarence) finished 68th (34:14.52).

Delhi head coach Bob Backus was named the Coach of the Championships while Matt Cousins, the head coach of the College of DuPage, was named Coach of the Year.

Harper (IL) College won the Pepsi Cup for the best combined men's and women's finish.